Stuart Horse Trials


Return to homepage

2003 Trophies

CIC** $7,500 Purse

The Elaine P. and Richard U. Wilson Foundation and the National Bank of Geneva

Stuart Horse Trials' Coolers by Horseware/Triple Crown Products

Winning Individual, in all divisions
Embroidered and custom designed coolers by Horseware/Triple Crown Products

The "Wise Decision" Trophy

Winning CIC** Rider
Given by the Elaine P. and Richard U. Wilson Foundation, in memory of Wise Decision, honoring all past, present and future equine athletes.
2003 Winner: Darren Chiacchia on Windfall

The Elaine & Richard Wilson Trophy

Winning Open Intermediate Rider
Given by the Elaine P. and Richard U. Wilson Foundation in recognition of the parents who give their young equestrians their time, energy and loving support.
2003 Winner: Sarah Cousins on Tell Me Why

The Elisabeth Wesson Trophy

Highest Scoring Young Rider in Open Prelim
Given by the Stuart Horse Trials Committee in appreciation of Mrs. Rufus Wesson, whose encouragement of young riders in Western New York has been unparalleled.
2003 Winner: Sara Davis on Mackinac

The Woodlander Trophy

Winning OP Division B Rider
Given by Kyra King Stuart and Heidi Stuart Vahue in honor of Heidi's former Preliminary and Intermediate partner.
2003 Winner: Phillip Dutton on Emma

The Beamer Trophy

Overall top placing OP mare
Given by Brant Gamma in honor of her Beamer
2003 Winner: Phillip Dutton on Emma

Ida Mizelle Joseph Trophy

Best Dressage Score, any Training Level
Given in memory of the Mendon Pony Club volunteer instructor who founded the Western New York Dressage Association.
2003 Winner: Denise Rath on Limited Edition

The Cobblestone Trophy

Winning Junior (18 & under) Training Level Rider
Given by the de Papp family in recognition of their Cobblestone, USEA National Young Rider Horse of the Year in 1980.
2003 Winner: Brittny Novak on Clark Kent

The Sweet Hickory Trophy

Winning Junior (18 & under) Novice Level Rider
Donated by the O'Hara family in memory of Jennifer's outstanding Connemara mare, who also evented with Jennifer Schaller-Henderson of Mendon Pony Club.
2003 Winner: Hope Nicyper-Meryman on Feather Blue

Major Anthony A. J. Rethy Perpetual Trophy

Best Dressage Score in Novice Division
Given by Kristie Van Valkinburgh of VanDesign and Jackie Kinney of Coverly Equestrian Center, in memory of their beloved Hungarian riding instructor, one of the founders of both eventing and dressage competition in Western New York.
2003 Winner: Darrah Alexander on Kopede de Garnet

Stuart Horse Trials Vintage Cups

Best overall score in each of the five levels
For competitors 45 years and holding

Title Sponsor


Supporting Sponsors

Animals to Wear
Official Volunteer Outfitter

Dover Saddlery

Maui Jim Sunglasses

 Marshall Pet Products

The Pike Company

StartBox Online Scoring

EFP Rotenberg

Woodcliff Hotel and Spa


Contributing Sponsors

Hilltop Catering

Lucas Greenhouses

American Equipment

Mendon Meadows Market Place

Admar Construction

DiMarco Group